Study periods

UniSA has seven study periods as opposed to two traditional semesters. The academic year is split into two halves, with three study periods in each half, plus a study period during summer.

Study periods 2 and 5 represent the traditional first and second semesters. 

  • First semester: Study periods 1, 2 and 3 occur during the first semester of the academic year.
  • Second semester: Study periods 4, 5 and 6 occur during the second semester of the academic year.
  • Summer term: Study period 7 occurs during the summer term.

Please note: Summer school courses may also fall within study period 1 depending on the study pattern.

For timing and key dates for each study period, see the academic calendar