We respectfully acknowledge the Kaurna, Boandik and Barngarla First Nations Peoples and their Elders past and present, who are the First Nations’ Traditional Owners of the lands that are now home to the University of South Australia’s campuses in Adelaide, Mount Gambier and Whyalla. We are honoured to recognise our connection to the Kaurna, the Boandik and the Barngarla lands, and their history, culture and spirituality through these locations, and we strive to ensure that we operate in a manner that respects their Elders and ancestors. We also acknowledge the other First Nations lands across Australia with which we conduct business, their Elders, ancestors, cultures and heritage. 

Aboriginal readers are advised that this website may contain images and names of deceased persons.

UniSA aims to be the University of Choice for Aboriginal People. Since its founding, UniSA has demonstrated an ongoing commitment to Aboriginal education through its founding act and important initiatives such as the Aboriginal Taskforce, Australia’s first Aboriginal Tertiary Program. UniSA was the first university in South Australia to have a Reconciliation Action Plan (RAP), a guiding document to advance reconciliation across the organisation. 

Professor Irene Watson, the University’s inaugural Pro Vice Chancellor: Aboriginal Leadership and Strategy, since September 2016, has led the development of our second RAP and is involved in the current development of the new stretch RAP, in which we commit to the objectives of the Universities Australia Indigenous Strategy, 2022-2025

UniSA Video

Aboriginal Welcome to Country for Vice Chancellor, Professor David Lloyd at a 2013 graduation ceremony