MoU Signing Ceremony between UniSA/CITE and 8 Partner Schools

3 May 2023 12pm – 1pm
JS6-13 Jeffery Smart Building, City West Campus, University of South Australia, Adelaide

On Wednesday, May 3rd, 2023, 8 Australian Islamic Schools signed a memorandum of understanding (MoU) with the University of South Australia's (UniSA) Centre for Islamic Thought and Education (CITE) to be sites of innovative educational renewal. The schools formalised their on-going commitment towards CITE's graduate teacher education programs that advance faith-informed praxis for all educators working in Islamic schools. This collaboration aspires to support already thriving Islamic schools to become global models of vision-driven institutions. For the emerging field of Islamic schooling, this is a landmark collaboration that brings together the work of universities and schools with a shared aspiration.

12:00noon -12:05pm Prof Mohamad Abdalla AM – Director, CITE, UniSA - Acknowledgment of Country and opening remarks
12:05pm - 12:10pm      Professor Shane Dawson - Executive Dean - Education Futures, UniSA.
12:10pm - 12:15 pm       Professor Sam Seller – Dean of Research - Education Futures, UniSA.
12:15pm - 12:20pm       Mr. Abdullah Khan – President, Islamic Schools Association of Australia.
12:20pm - 12:25pm      Ms. Miriam Silva - Deputy Managing Director, Crescent Wealth.
12:25pm - 12:30pm      Ms. Lynda Secombe - Association of Independent Schools of SA.
12:30pm - 12:50pm     Panel: Reflections from school representatives.

MoU signing (in alphabetical order): to view each video please click on the school leaders' names
• Mr Osman Karolia - Principal / CEO, Arkana College, NSW
Mr Andrew Taylor – Principal, Australian International Islamic College, QLD
• Mr. Kerim Buday – CEO, Ilim College, VIC
• Mr. Talha Bozkurt – Head, Islamic Education, Ilim College, VIC
Mr. Mustafa Ayvaz - Principal, Irfan College, NSW
• Mr. Ali Kadri – CEO, Islamic College of Brisbane, QLD
Dr Zachariah Matthews – Principal, Malek Fahd Islamic School, NSW
• Dr Abdul Razaq Musa - (Chairman of the board) – Playford College, SA
Ms Racha Makki – Deputy Principal, Playford College, SA
• Dr Sayd Farook – CEO, Unity Grammar, NSW
Mr Samir Halbouni – Principal, Unity Grammar, NSW