20 August 2014

Elizabeth Ho OAM UniSA is honouring three distinguished leaders who have shaped the development of the University, contributing to its culture and the wider community over the past few decades.

Elizabeth Ho OAM, Adjunct Professor Dennis Mulcahy and Adjunct Associate Professor Adrian Vicary will be awarded fellowships in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the growth and development of UniSA through their respective roles at the University.

As Inaugural Director of the Bob Hawke Prime Ministerial Centre, from 1999 to early this year, Ho was pivotal in attracting local and international speakers, delivering a program of lectures and seminars that have placed the Hawke Centre firmly at the forefront – providing the platform for public debate on key ideas and issues related to 21st Century society.

As a recipient of a Medal of the Order of Australia for services to women and children and designated a People of Australia ambassador by the Prime Minister, Ho is highly regarded for championing shared respect for national cultural diversity and social environment.

Adjunct Professor Dennis Mulcahy Dennis Mulcahy is currently Adjunct Professor in the Centre for Water Management and Refuse, having been the head of school of chemical technology from 1993 to 2000 and education and training program leader in the Cooperative Research Centre for Water Quality and Treatment for 13 years.

In 2011 Prof Mulcahy was awarded the South Australian Premier’s medal for service to the water industry and this year he will be part of a team conducting an online monitoring evaluation project for water research Australia.

As a highly regarded academic and senior manager, throughout his career at UniSA, Assoc Prof Adrian Vicary has been Head of School of Psychology, Social Work and Social Policy, Chair of Academic Board and ex officio member of the council of UniSA, Dean: International and External Engagement in the Division of Education, Arts and Social Sciences and acting Pro Vice Chancellor of the Division.

Adjunct Associate Professor Adrian VicaryAssoc Prof Vicary has also been responsible for student exchange and mobility programs, contributing to offshore graduations and other UniSA events with overseas partner institutions. As a leading figure in the area of education and public policy; he has delivered keynote addresses on numerous forums and has also been Deputy Presiding Member of the former Senior Secondary Assessment Board of South Australia.

Assoc Prof Vicary is also the President of the South Australian Chapter of the Australia India Business Council and a Director of Australia Indian Business Council Ltd.

UniSA Vice Chancellor, Prof David Lloyd, paid tribute to the new University Fellows. 

“The outstanding calibre of work and commitment to UniSA that Elizabeth, Dennis and Adrian demonstrate has strengthened our institution, its enterprise culture and its wider standing in society,” Prof Lloyd says.

“The title of University Fellow recognises that commitment and contribution and it is a privilege to be able to honour Elizabeth, Dennis and Adrian in this way.”

The Fellowship awards will be conferred on Wednesday August 20.

Media contact: Will Venn office 8302 0096 email Will.Venn@unisa.edu.au 

Other articles you may be interested in