29 January 2014

Paula NagelUniversity of South Australia academics and a council member have been appointed as members (AM) in the General Division of the Order of Australia in this year’s Australia Day honours.

Vice Chancellor and President of UniSA, Professor David Lloyd, says he is delighted that the University has been so well represented in the Australia Day honours listing.

“The honours awarded to these individuals are a testimony to both their commitment to contribute to Australian society and to their ability to use their talents to benefit the wider community,” Prof Lloyd says. “I congratulate them on behalf of the University community.”

UniSA Council member Paula Nagel was awarded ‘for significant service to higher education in South Australia, to the arts, and to the community’.

In addition to her role as UniSA Council member, Nagel has held a major consulting role as an advisor attached to the University City Project with the Department of Premier and Cabinet.

Previously she was Chair of Education Adelaide, Marketing Manager of Foundation SA, and a Senior Consultant at Morgan & Banks. In 1997 she established her own company, NBC Resources, a management consultancy that organised board and other high level appointments and provided a range of marketing services. She also established a number of new industry development boards for the South Australian Government.

Professor David Round, Professor of Economics and Director of the Centre for Regulation and Market Analysis, was awarded for ‘significant service to business and commerce, particularly in the areas of competition policy and market regulation’.

Prof Round’s research focuses on competition law, policy and enforcement, consumer protection, regulation, East Asian competition, consumer protection and deregulation, and anti-monopoly law in China.

Emeritus Professor Andrew Gilbert was also recognised for his significant service to pharmacy as an educator, researcher and administrator, and to professional organisations.

Emeritus Prof Gilbert is the former director of the Quality Use of Medicines and Pharmacy Research Centre. He retired in December 2011 but his involvement with the University continues.

Emeritus Prof Gilbert has an international reputation for his research and consultancy work in areas of medicines policy and health practice change, and he won the Lifetime Achievement Award at the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia’s Excellence Awards in 2011.

Also honoured this year were several alumni: Peter Muller AO, Michael Hewitson AM, Carolyn Palmer AM, Virginia Hall OAM, Nicholas Dean OAM and Kieran Modra AM.

Media contact: Rachel Broadley phone 8302 0965 email rachel.broadley@unisa.edu.au


Other articles you may be interested in