14 August 2012

UniSA has five Tall Poppy finalists Poppies_iStock_000013774554University of South Australia researchers who are tackling rising problems of the 21st century have been named as finalists in this year’s South Australian Young Tall Poppy Awards.

UniSA’s Deputy Vice Chancellor: Research and Innovation, Professor Sakkie Pretorius, says these outstanding early career researchers represent the future of science from UniSA.

“With our finalists coming from a broad cross-section of disciplines, their short listing stands as a testament to the quality of early career research occurring across the university,” Prof Pretorius says.

UniSA’s finalists are:

  • Dr Russell Brinkworth – Mechatronics – biologically inspired cameras
  • Dr Hannah Keage – Dementia – early life prevention and physiological symptoms
  • Dr Antonina Mikocka-Walus – Psychological Medicine – inflammatory bowel disease
  • Dr Grant Tomkinson – Health Sciences – obesity treatment in children
  • Dr Haolan Xu – Nanomaterials – study of nanocrystals for building nanodevices

 The Tall Poppy Campaign aims to boost public awareness by championing the brightest young local researchers who are leading the charge to inspire the next generations of skilled South Australians.

UniSA’s five finalists were among 14 researchers in South Australia who were selected as finalists from a large pool of nominees.

The winner of the 2012 South Australian Tall Poppy of the Year Award will be announced at the Science Excellence Awards SA being held at the Intercontinental Hotel on August 17. The Tall Poppy of the Year will receive a $10,000 cash prize.

More information about the Tall Poppy Awards and quotes from Science and Information Economy Minister Tom Kenyon is available here

Media contact: Kelly Stone office 8302 0963 mobile 0417 861 832 email Kelly.stone@unisa.edu.au

Other articles you may be interested in