06 August 2012

Graduates represent the future of ingenuity and endeavour in SA and beyond.South Australia’s newest professionals – including more than 210 teachers and 190 nurses and health professionals – will graduate from the University of South Australia this week, building strength and excellence in the South Australian workforce.

The university will confer more than 1700 degrees and just over 1190 students will attend graduation ceremonies at Adelaide Festival Theatre on Tuesday August 7 and Wednesday August 8.

UniSA Deputy Vice Chancellor: Academic, Professor Joanne Wright, says graduation ceremonies continue to be an important part of people’s lives.

“For every single graduate – this is a special day,” Prof Wright says.

“Graduations are about celebrating achievement, creativity, determination, talent and hard work.

“On a personal level for the graduates and their families the day is special, but as a community we should also be glad to see them walking about in their graduation gowns because they represent the future of ingenuity and endeavour in South Australia and beyond.”

Four graduation ceremonies will be held over the Tuesday and Wednesday. The two days of ceremonies will focus on students from business including law, commerce and management; health including nursing, biomedical sciences and pharmacy; arts, architecture, design, psychology, teaching, communications, Indigenous education and social work; and information technology, maths, environment studies and engineering.

Vice Chancellor Professor Peter Høj says UniSA is again proud to have high profile guest speakers at each day of the graduation ceremonies.

Guest speakers on day one are Equal Opportunity for Women in the Workplace Agency (EOWA) Director Ms Helen Conway and Health Workforce Australia CEO Mark Cormack. On day two, students will hear from Elders Ltd General Manager of Commercial Operations Miriam Silva and Defence Science and Technology Organisation Chief Executive Dr Alex Zelinsky.

Also on day two, Professor Michael Taylor will be conferred with an Honorary Award of Emeritus Professor.

Media contact: Kelly Stone office 8302 0963 mobile 0417 861 832 email Kelly.stone@unisa.edu.au

Other articles you may be interested in