The University’s principal governing body is the Council, comprising up to 15 members. The powers of the Council are assigned in Part 3 (Division 1) of the University of South Australia Act and include:

  • overseeing the management and development of the University
  • approving strategic plans and major policies, devising or approving statutes and by-laws for the University  
  • monitoring and reviewing the operation of the University
  • appointing, and overseeing the performance of the Chief Executive Officer, the Vice Chancellor.

Council schedule to meet 7 times per year and their administrative needs are served by the Council Secretariat.  Among the Council's responsibilities are a commitment to good governance and the bestowment of honorary awards.

The Council has delegated authority to a number of Committees of Council, in addition to Academic Board, to provide advice and to assist in good governance of the institution.