

AWARDS AND RECOGNITION

Australian Research Council

Professor Eva Bezak was appointed to the 2019 ARC College of Experts (College).

Australasian Sonographers Association

Dr Jessie Childs was awarded an inaugural Fellowship for outstanding contributions to the advancement of the sonography profession in Australasia.

Kate Lamb was awarded the prestigious Australasian Sonographers Association Sonographer of the Year: South Australia.

Sandy Maranna was awarded an inaugural Fellowship for outstanding contributions to the advancement of the sonography profession in Australasia.

Associate Professor Nayana Parange was awarded an inaugural Fellowship for outstanding contributions to the advancement of the sonography profession in Australasia.

Bupa Health Foundation

Dr Kate Gunn was acknowledged with a Commendation Award as part of the Emerging Health Researcher Award.

Imogen Ramsey, PhD student, was awarded the UniSA BUPA Award: Transformed PhD Student.

Churchill Fellowship

Dr Kate Gunn was awarded the Leslie (Les) J. Fleming Churchill Fellowship for Oncology and Cancer research.

Controlled Release Society

Hayley Schultz, PhD student, was awarded the Local Chapter Young Scientist Travel Award, Australia.

Santhni Subramaniam, Honours student, was awarded Best Poster-to Podium Presentation Award at the Controlled Release Asia meeting in Singapore.

Chelsea Thorne, PhD student, was awarded 3rd prize in the Poster-to Podium Presentation Award at the Controlled Release Asia meeting in Singapore.

Convergent Bio-Nano Science & Technology (CBNS)

Hayley Schultz, PhD student, was awarded the CBNS Student Travel Award.

Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO)

Associate Professor Kristin Carson-Chahhoud was awarded People's Choice Award, CSIRO OnLaunch Camp.

Associate Professor Kristin Carson-Chahhoud won the Expert Judge's Panel 'best pitch' award, CSIRO OnLaunch Camp.

Commonwealth Serum laboratories (CSL)

Hayley Schultz, PhD student, was a Top 20 Finalist - CSL Florey Next Generation Award.

FISFA International Film and Arts Festival/ World Rural Health Conference

Dr Kate Gunn received an Award for the Rural Cancer Stories project.

Multinational Association of Supportive Care in Cancer (MASCC)

Imogen Ramsey, PhD student, was awarded the MASCC Junior Researcher Award.

National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC)

Professor Shudong Wang was recognised with the Top Ranked Development Grant award at the NHMRC Research Excellence Awards. The Development Grant is titled *Development of highly selective CDK4/6 inhibitors for treating cancer*.

Premier's Council on Suicide Prevention

Dr Kate Gunn was appointed to the Council.

Public Health Association of Australia (PHAA)

Summer Finlay, PhD student, received the PHAA President's Award.

SA Governor's Award

Associate Professor Nayana Parange has received a Governor's Multicultural Award for volunteer work in developing ultrasound services, as well as upskilling health professionals in rural, remote and Indigenous communities.

South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute

Associate Professor Kristin Carson-Chahhoud was awarded the Pitch Perfect Award at the Annual Scientific Meeting Research Showcase.

University of South Australia

Tahnee Dening, PhD student, was awarded the Best Transformed PhD Student of the Year - in the Training and Support category.

Tahnee Dening, PhD student, won the Division of Health Sciences 3 Minute Thesis final.

Professor Clive Prestidge and Dr Nicky Thomas were recognised as having the Best Research Themes Investment Scheme Application.

Hayley Schultz, PhD student, was awarded a UniSA Research Degree Excellence award.

World Rural Health Conference

Alison Barrett, MSc student, was recognised with the Best International Oral Presentation, Delhi.