Building on a tradition of innovation and enterprise.

Providing a culture for breaking new ground and forging new opportunities

Aligned to the each of the Strand Leader appointments is a Professorial Chair. These appointments acknowledge and honour four acclaimed South Australians who have contributed to the development of a culture of industry engagement with research.

The appointments enrich the academic environment of the Institute and contribute to our spirit of enterprise.

Barbara Hardy AO

Barbara Hardy has been working in the environment field in a voluntary capacity since the early 1970s. She has been a Commissioner of the Australian Heritage Commission, President of the National Parks Foundation of South Australia (now the Nature Foundation SA), Founding President of the Investigator Science and Technology Centre and Chairperson of the South Australian Landcare Committee amongst a number of other roles.

Dr Hardy was appointed an Officer of the General Division of the Order of Australia (AO) in 1987 and has received numerous awards including the Advance Australia Award 1991, SA Great Award 1992, Institution of Engineers Medal 1992, ABC Eureka Award for the Advancement of Science 1994 and was named South Australian Citizen of the Year in 1996. She is now a Companion of the Institution of Engineers Australia and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Energy where she is a member of the Hydrogen Division.

She served as the appointed Member from Australia on the Asia-Pacific Forum for Environment and Development (APFED), a major international project initiated and funded by the Japanese Ministry for Environment from 2001 to 2006. APFED "aims to propose a model of equitable and sustainable development for Asia and the Pacific Region."

Dr Hardy holds a Science Degree (majoring in Chemistry) from the University of Adelaide (1947) and studied Earth Sciences at Flinders University in South Australia from 1974-79. In addition she received an Honorary Doctorate from Flinders University in 1993 and an Honorary Doctorate from the University of Adelaide in 2011.

She has had a long and valued association with the University of South Australia.  She was a founding board member of the Institute for Sustainable Systems and Technology from 2006 to 2009 when she then became patron of UniSA's Centre for Sustainable Urban Environments: The Barbara Hardy Centre. In 2011, she became patron of UniSA's Barbara Hardy Institute. Her principal interests are in ecologically sustainable development, biodiversity conservation, environmental valuation, renewable energy production and use, and in business and industrial matters especially as they affect the environment within which we all live.

Emeritus Laureate Professor John Ralston AO FAA FTSE

John Ralston’s contribution to Australia’s, indeed the world’s scientific community is as profound as it is distinguished. The breakthroughs that have emanated from his cutting-edge research in particle technology, interfacial science and engineering have led to significant, tangible improvements in the practice of minerals processing and particle and surface technology, delivering benefits for industry worldwide.

Professor Ralston was the driving force behind the establishment of the Ian Wark Research Institute in 1994 and the designated Australian Research Council Special Research Centre for Particle and Material Interfaces. In 2006 John was the principal researcher who led the initiative to establish the Australian Mineral Science Research Institute (AMSRI). AMSRI was a virtual institute in particle science and engineering, with its headquarters at the Wark and involved collaborative research with the universities of Melbourne, Newcastle and Queensland, together with major international companies. He has also actively supervised more than eighty five PhD research students.  These students have gone on to establish successful careers in universities, industry and other research institutions around the world.

In 2008, Professor Ralston was made an Officer of the Order of Australia, and the previous year he was honoured as South Australian of the Year and also South Australian Scientist of the Year. In 2009, he received the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering Council's prestigious Clunies Ross Lifetime Achievement Award. He is also a Fellow of both the Australian Academy of Science, and the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering.

Emeritus Professor Lloyd Sansom AO

A distinguished educator, researcher and policy advisor, Emeritus Professor Lloyd Sansom AO is a leading light in Australian health and pharmacy. In 2004 the University of South Australia named the Sansom Institute in his honour, recognising an illustrious career that has spanned five decades.

Professor Sansom began working as a pharmacist after attaining his initial qualification in 1962. He went on to gain a PhD in biophysical chemistry in 1972 before embarking on an academic career which saw him hold various senior positions including Head of the School of Pharmacy and Medical Sciences at UniSA from 1995-2000.

An accomplished researcher with particular interests in pharmacokinetics, biopharmaceutics and the quality use of medicines, Professor Sansom has received more than 20 major grants and contributed to over 100 scientific publications.

He played a major role in the development of Australia's National Medicines Policy and has sat on numerous government and industry advisory groups - including the Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee, which he chaired from 2001-2012. In 2002 he was made an Officer of the Order of Australia in recognition of his outstanding achievements and service to Australia and humanity at large.

He was awarded the Fred J Boyd Award in 2014 from The Society of Hospital Pharmacists Australia, for distinguished contribution to quality use of medicines and continues to contribute to Australian health care via his numerous current appointments and consultancies to professional and scientific authorities including:

  • Australian Pharmaceutical Formulary and Handbook
  • Therapeutic Goods Administration
  • Pharmacy Board of Australia
  • Commonwealth Department of Health
  • Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care
  • Australian Pharmacy Council
  • Journal of Pharmacy Practice and Research Editorial Advisory Board


David Klingberg AO

David Klingberg is one of South Australia's most prominent business leaders.  He graduated from a University of South Australia predecessor institution as a Civil Engineer and his engineering career spanned 34 years with Kinhill Engineers, where he played a major role in developing a small, Adelaide-based group into one of the largest and most successful firms of professional engineers in Australia and South East Asia.

On his retirement from Kinhill in 1998, Mr Klingberg was appointed Chancellor of the University of South Australia and over the next decade played a significant governance role overviewing the new institution's rapid growth. He also served as inaugural Chair of the national Universities Chancellors Council for three years.

In 2009 he was made an Officer of the Order of Australia for his contributions to governance policy in the tertiary education sector and to commercial and economic development and infrastructure projects. He also received a Centenary Medal for services to civil and mining engineering and in 2008 was named Australian Professional Engineer of the Year and inducted into the South Australian Engineering Hall of Fame in 2013. In 2009 he was made an Honorary Doctor of the University of South Australia.

Mr Klingberg is a professional company director and currently Chairman of Centrex Metals Limited and a Director of E&A Limited. He is Patron of the St Andrews Hospital Foundation.