Strand Leaders are innovators in their field who work with our researchers, students and partners to identify and solve new and interdisciplinary challenges.

Professor Peter Murphy

Strand Leader and David Klingberg Chair – Energy and Advanced Manufacturing

Recipient of the prestigious 2016 Clunies Ross Innovation Award, Professor Peter Murphy translates innovative thin-film and polymer technologies into tailored solutions for industry. As UniSA’s first Industry Professor, he has delivered strategic collaborations and research partnerships between universities and industry.

Find out more

Professor David Giles

Strand Leader and John Ralston Chair – Minerals and Resources Engineering

A leading expert in translating minerals science research into solutions for the mining industry, Professor David Giles has extensive experience in mineral exploration and the development and implementation of the next generation of exploration geoscience.

Find out more


Professorial Chairs

Aligned to each of the Strand Leader appointments is a Professorial Chair. These appointments acknowledge and honour four aclaimed South Australians who have contributed to the development of a culture of industry engagement with research.

The appointments enrich the academic environment of the Institute and contribute to our spirit of enterprise.

Find out more