unisa logo

Team history

As a vibrant, modern university, UniSA is proud of its 20-year association with the Santos Tour Down Under (TDU), a role that has seen Team UniSA-Australia foster Australia’s most promising young male riders since 2001, before expanding to include a women’s team from 2018 on.

Over the years, Team UniSA-Australia has been a launching pad for careers, delivering an opportunity for local riders to compete in their home race and providing up and coming young Australians a chance to impress on the world stage.

The 2019 TDU saw Jason Lea do just that, emerging as the overall King of the Mountain with a gutsy performance in sweltering heat to lead the classification from day one until the end, while in the women’s tour, Rachel Neylan pushed the leaders all the way to finish third overall.

Team UniSA-Australia’s great performance in 2019 added to years of highlights. 2018 saw Scott Bowden and Zak Dempster win Most Competitive awards, while Katrin Garfoot grabbed a Sprint Jersey, Leader’s Jersey and Queen of the Mountain in different stages.

In 2014, 20-year-old Victorian Jack Haig won the overall Young Rider’s Jersey, 2012 saw Will Clarke win Stage Two and SA rider Rohan Dennis win three classifications, including the King of the Mountain Jersey. Memorable victories in the Teams classification came in 2004 and 2006 and Patrick Jonker’s overall win in 2004 is the stuff of legend.

UniSA Vice Chancellor, Professor David Lloyd, says he is thrilled the University continues to be part of the Tour Down Under story. “We’re especially happy to be sponsors of the Australian teams at the Tour because it offers young riders the chance to test their abilities on the world stage before an international audience. History shows many of the riders use this as a springboard to a career in professional cycling, so it is a very rewarding association for us.”

Classification Placings


 2008 Allan Davies 2nd
 2007 Karl Menzies 2nd
 2006 Gene Bates 5th
 2004 Patrick Jonker 1st
 2002 Patrick Jonker 3rd


2017 Team UniSA 1st
2006 Team UniSA 1st
2004 Team UniSA 1st

King of the Mountain

2019 Jason Lea 1st
2015 Jack Bobridge 1st
2012 Rohan Dennis 1st
2011 Luke Roberts 1st
2011 Mitchell Docker 3rd
2010 David Kemp 3rd
2005 Gene Bates 1st
2002 Russell van Hout 2nd
2001 Russell van Hout 2nd

Most Aggressive Rider

2008 Allan Davis 1st 

Sprints classification

2006  Russell van Hout 2nd

Young Rider jersey

2014 Jack Haig 1st
2012 Rohan Dennis 1st
2003 Gene Bates 1st
2001 Gene Bates 1st

Stage classification

2015 1 Jack Bobridge 1st
2015 4 Steele von Hoff 1st
2012 2 Will Clarke 1st
2008 3 Allan Davis 1st
2007 5 Allan Davis 3rd
2007 3 Chris Jongewaard 2nd
2007 1 Karl Menzies 1st
2006 4 Russell van Hout 1st
2006 4 Paul Crake 2nd
2006 2 Paul Crake 2nd
2004 3 Gene Bates 2nd
2002 2 Corey Sweet 2nd
2001 4 Luke Roberts 1st