Deputy Vice Chancellor, Research and Innovation

Deputy Vice Chancellor,
Research and Innovation

Tanya Monro

Professor Tanya Monro is Deputy Vice Chancellor Research and Innovation and an ARC Georgina Sweet Laureate Fellow at the University of South Australia. 

Tanya was the inaugural Director of the Institute for Photonics and Advanced Sensing (IPAS) from 2008 to 2014 and was also the inaugural Director for the ARC Centre of Excellence for Nanoscale BioPhotonics (CNBP) at the University of Adelaide. 

Tanya is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science (AAS), the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering (ATSE) and the Australian Institute of Physics.  She is a member of the Prime Minister’s Commonwealth Science Council (CSC), the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO), the AAS National Committee for Physics and the South Australian Economic Development Board. Professor Monro's considerable board experience includes chairing the Deputy Vice Chancellor Research Group of the Australian Technology Network of Universitites and the National Youth Science Forum (NYSF). Tanya is also an inaugural Bragg Fellow of the Royal Institution of Australia (RiAus).

In 2015, Tanya was awarded a Eureka Prize for Excellence in Interdisciplinary Scientific Research.  In 2014, Tanya was awarded the Beattie Steel Medal of the Australian Optical Society and in 2012 the Australian Academy of Sciences’ Pawsey Medal. In 2011, Tanya was named South Australia’s “Australian of the Year” and the Scopus Young Researcher of the Year. In 2010, she became South Australian Scientist of the Year and Telstra Business Women of the Year (in the Community & Government category). In 2008, she won the Prime Minister’s Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year.

Tanya obtained her PhD in physics in 1998 from The University of Sydney, for which she was awarded the Bragg Gold Medal for the best Physics PhD in Australia. In 2000, she received a Royal Society University Research Fellowship at the Optoelectronics Research Centre at the University of Southampton in the UK.  She came to the University of Adelaide in 2005 as inaugural Chair of Photonics. She has published over 500 papers in refereed journals and conference proceedings and raised over $140M for research.

Areas of study and research

+ Click to minimise